todays outfit

todays outfit
to get some great finish on my tan before I'll go home I bought meself a pair of tanning speedos.
and what other colour cobination could be better right. :)

Saturday, January 31, 2009

my new hero


You wake up and feel that something ain't just all right.. you couldn't sleep last night because you couldn't make up your fucking mind wherever pay some more and move closer to the village or stay where you are and get pissed at the buses every second day, or if you would take a job, IF you get one.. this year it's 80% less work opportunities then normal year.. or just live it large, have fun but come home totally broke..!! then you look out the window to check for some slope time and it's fucking raining...

nag nag I know this is a lame excuse for a problem, luxury problem #76584. I know, but it's my problem and it's big for me!! hehe

But there he is.. the freaking whistler original.!! making my crappy day shine..!!

I saw this old man in the gym before, and he was prancing around and sort of dancing weirdly with some light weights, and balancing/skipping in circles on a balance board busting moves..
Now he's at the skating rink having a figure skating show of his own.. And when he realise that you're watching, he shines up a bit and tries a bit harder.. :D
You can see that his a drunk, or was, or somethings just missing for this dude.. it's hard to explain, you'll understand.. there's something about him that just make me smile..

But he's good at it, in a funny way, and he never falls down, that's the thing.. he never falls..
and it's not that he does it for 5 min and walks away, he'll do it for hours ...

enjoy


Thursday, January 29, 2009

David Attenborough


Oh shiiit.
tonite on the way home from the club I saw a COYOTE.. that's almost a WOLF.. right in the village.. cooooool!
she was sniffing around in a bus stop and wasn't to afraid, bit shy.. I followed her for 5 min trying to get a good photo and sight.. she was close but kept her distance, 5-10 meters ahead of me , and once and awhile kept looking back, wondering what crazy thing I was with a big smile on my face and an intensively flashing camera whilst making what I thought a coyote would sound like trying to make contact.. at the time I thought I would make a greeeaaat coyote.!
I'll guess she had the same face as I did when I looked stupidly at the waitress the other day..

but when I clumsily tried to climb a snowhill and sunk to my knees she took of in to the bushes like a scared.... wildlife..
girls tend to do that when I get to close, maybe have to work on my hunting technique hey..
my Indian name would easily be, 2 eager for beaver hehe...

the photo is not the greatest when it was dark.. but i sure did see SOME fur at least...


microphone check...


G
ot meself out for a night of Hip Hop yesterday, and dragged C.G and two swedish brothers out with me..
Started of at Cinnamon sports bar to have a beer and see the Canucks game, and they lost again hehe unbelievable.. the waitress tried her best to get some good tip and flirted as expected, 
but when she asked if we were from germany I gave her the evil eye.. !
5 min later she came running back with a free drink for being rude ..  
excellent hehe..

Then of for a good concert with the duo LifeSavas.
so great to hear some good music for change, some time away from the otherwise cheesy afterski music and hitlist remixes out on the bars..
But what do you expect with a city full of 20 year olds and snowboard geeks.. and they can't dance for shit so I gave them a bit of taste what to come hehe.. 
And also with that crowd you don't expect many to pay to see and appreciate some good old 
Hip Hop, especially on a wednesday.. 
to bad because the concert was really good and the venue in a basement with a really small upclose stage.. much like mosebacke at home..

fow soooh ain't gonna miss out on next good concert..!
for some LifeSavas music click here

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

whistler stylee'



Yao yao yaaaoo..

couldn't help it ! just had to get me some new clothes.. I know I should wait until I get a job end some mo money.. but what the heck..
I got time to spend and I wanna spend it on fun, I got money to burn and I wanna burn 'em on... meee hehehe !

and ow cauwse they're BROWN ;)

Just need a pair of new pants and jacket to ride in and a new board as well,
then maybe, just maybe I'm satisfied..... for now

but it really bums me out that it's not at all as cheap here as I expected..
so close to the US and all.. mmh well.. one thing that is cheap here though is to get drunk.. a pitcher of beer 12 bucks.. :) thats equals 5 draft beer for 100 swedish k.. !!
now that's sometin' 

pis

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

let it snow let it snoow let it snooow..


Got a smile on my face this morning when I looked out the window..
It really was snowing!!.. not much but still.!!

But still I'm so lazy and have real trouble to
get out of bed in decent time.. me likie sleepe not gettie uppie..
A bit late I rushed down the creek.. going down the dammed shortcut it's one mode only.. wild running hoping not to slip mode.. and just caught the bus with heavy breathing..

C.G has been cold for a few days but couldn't bare himself to miss out on some fresh snow and was a bit ahead of me in the gondola with some of his roomies..
I phoned and said that they could take one run without me and meet me up at the top again. looking out the gondola window I could see that the snow was now falling more intense and I sat back and got some of my gear ready on the 20 min ride to the top..
mmh it's a long way up.. and a real leg burner going all the way down..
But on arrival to the top it wasn't the same.. the wind was sometimes storm and not as much snow in the air, except for the one blowing around..!
Upon meeting with the gang and strapping my board on I realized that one of my binding was broken, I had lost a screw.. literally
This isn't happening I thought out loud..
this is just my luck, the day before I had had a really bad day with the buses, ending up spending almost 2 h just waiting on buses that wasn't showing up or really late..
and this morning the driver went to bathroom at one stop leaving us there for a good 10 min.!!
I had hoped that the curse was over when I woke up.. but obviously not..
So the rest went for another run when I got to the repair shop..
After 5 min not finding the right screw I thought.. screw this.. , am I missing out on powder day.!!

Well we found one, and I had a great day, soft landings on everything and I got my 360s working a bit better on the big jumps.. we only got 6 cm snow today, but it was a GOOD 6 cm.
I love this conditions when it's -5 and snowing while you're riding, it's like you're in a cotton world and you can't get hurt :)
and when I close my laptop for the day, I look up through the window and it's still falling a bit of snow from the dark night, making the branches on every tree look like from a fairy tale...

another great day in making...




Sunday, January 25, 2009

when it's cold, don't forget your jumper...



So the Cold finally caught up with us, no longer spring warmth.. and on tuesday they say it will snow.. how much we don't know but we're hopeful..

at -15 a sunday we thought it would be more fun to do something else then ride an icy slope.
So we got up really early to catch the shuttle to the Olympic village and spectate some 
world cup ski jumping..
Great sunny day with some new hill records and hot chocolate! which we really needed in the cold.
also to keep us warm we all simultaneously jumped with the ski jumper to get them some help on their way. We got on international TV and cheered our 2 swedish and other fellow scandinavian competitors against some boost up polish cheerers..
Something weird happened though.. one Swede got down as a leader on his second attempt, astonishing 122m, but after 5 min they took him of the board..  mmh
anyways. the winner landed later almost flat down the hill at amazing 149m.. but still??

But the most funny thing was the commentator hahaha.!
he thought he was commentating a world cup soccer final in south america!!
he really went in for it.. and a bit to much..

- HIIS OOON THE HILL!!    WWOOAAA  HIIISSSSS FLYYYIINNG !!  AAAAAAARE YOOOUUUUUU WIIITHH MEEEEEEEE!!!!! WWOOOW DID YOU SEEEEEE THAT, HEE ALMOST GOT COUGHT UP IN THE SNOW AND WHEN YOU DO, YOU KNOW YOUR NOT GETTING UP THIS CHRISTMAS!!!!...  

And all with a dark corny all american commercial voice. It was like Pablo Francisco was commentating..  gave us a great laugh though.!

 

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Crazy Canadiens


T
hey do have some crazy sports over here..
Yesterday we all went for a FREE snack buffe' and cheap beer, the bars take turns having specials each day, and today everybody felt a bit weird in their stomach after 20 mini springrolls.. duuuuh
Fortunately I was wise enough to eat before the buffe'.. had a bad feeling about it hehe ..

But I skipped the gym I'd planned because I didn't feel 100% me either.
on the afternoon we sat down at the Hilton sportsbar Cinnamon for a burger and a beer, or coke for most, and watched this crazy sport..

Crashed ice I think it's called and it's like boarder X but on SKATES!!
Imagine a 800m long ramp built in the city a few meters up and with turns and drops and bumps, then you poor a couple of hundred liters of water on there and make a long narrow snake formed ice street. Then you put 4 guys fully dressed in hockey gear on the starting line, and first to the other end wins..
They were falling and crashing in to each other and gliding on their backs and all crazy stuff.
hehe that was such a weird sport, but such fun to watch.!

wanna see some click here

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Scary Heights


Today I had an awesome day.. I took a my first ride in the peak to peak gondola..
It's a monster construction, a gondola that takes you to one mountain whistler, to the next mountain Blackcomb.

I was a bit tired today this morning as well, but I got a ride with Danni, the girl in the couple I'm living with. So I got to the lifts a bit faster then usual and before the rest of tha gang..  
So I just went to the top and order a coffee and sat down on the sundeck, legs up on a chair and leaning against the wall in a springwarm sun..

Then hitting the whistler mountain park for a couple of hours, did pretty good, finally starting to get some more airtime and speed in the jumps.

then for the last hour, me and Niels, living with C.G broke up from the rest to go to Blackcomb babypark for a change of settings. and we took the peak to peak..

The view is amazing, especially on a clear day like this..  here's some facts

Peak 2 Peak gondola:




Total length   4.4 km
Highest point  436 m above ground
Length of unsupported span   3.024 km between the two towers furthers apart. 
Ride time   11 min
Capacity     2050 person/h    each way
Number of towers    4


like I said.. it's a monster and really high up above the creek!

well afterwards we got together for a couple of beers, some pool and then home for late dinner and a movie..

It's a hard knocked life  ;) 

Tragi-Comic

Shit gotdamm!
There's a bit of a different culture over here "no shit sherlock"
and it's more american then I actually thought.. but I don't really know what I was expecting..

I was watching a game on TV tonite when I got back from the slopes, my day wasn't great, sort of never really woke up this morning, I guess and brought the bed head to the rails..  mmmh. But C.G was on fire, ripped of a clean 180 spin on a big battleship rail..  damn that was inspiring and awesome !! Big props to my man with the hot coco..!!

Anyways..  In the breaks I was zapping around and got stuck on a program about obesity ..
This is nothing new for you but it just caught me..
this dude had never left his home in 4 years and I think his bed in 2..  the legs on the bed gave up long ago and he was literally lying on the floor, naked with only a blanket sort of, watching TV all day...
and in the red corner we have.. a father of four.. likes to shit himselves.. his favorite animal, a pig!! .. weighing in at iiiincreeedible 1030 pounds..!!! hhheeeeerre's Kevin!!!
that's almost 500kg. jeesus christ super meal..  
but it was in a way funny, when they tried to move him on one side he couldn't breath.. and just by trying to put his enormous legs together he had trouble breathing..  and to get him out, they had to call the fire brigade and smash down a wall to roll him out through the garage..
and another guy they cut of the stomach on, and only the front part fat weight 78 pounds.. 
and all the time they just.. 

-well I never really checked my weight, and I tried to work out.. at least the things you can to from the bed.. wwahahhahahaa that's even more funny!!!
Well you should have heard the alarm bells ringing when your second  TV remote just disappeared... IN YOUR ASS!!

well all this writing made my hungry.. Gonna hop on the buss to MC D.
see ya later.. 

 

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Sweet life



This weather is crazy.. I know it's a lot of talk about the weather, but I'm from Sweden so bare with me ok...
Mother nature really acts in mysterious ways.. we have easter weather in mid January!! sick..
Today we hit the park again, nothing ells really goes in +10 celcius and crazy sunshine..  just had a blast in the park hitting some new boxes , like a big c-box and tables,  and just jibbing..
still taking it easy and slow.. no need to stress..
But it's good when you have someone a bit better in front and just follow on a line through the whole park hitting boxes, jumps and everything in your way.. and then top that with some sun..!
At todays lunch "again" we sat in t-shirt and gazed at the sun in amazing 15 degrees !!!
Then at 3 when they closed we slid down to the village and had a beer in the winter twilight..
then home for a shower and dinner before I got back to the boys at C.Gs place for some more beer and hockey tournament on playstation..

Sweet life indeed !!!
and tomorrow's a new bright sunny day :) 

Out in the cold

I find myself a bit on a party mood when I haven't yet explored the mountains night life..
Me and my newly found friend C.G and another Swede Henrik tried the other day.. but failed hehe..
It was evidently a big holiday down in the US of A this weekend, and that brought many young teens to the mountains in hope of finding the meaning of their life..
And because of that all the places that usually are free of cover charge now costs between $15-25 and are packed with scarcely dressed teens..  now there's nothing wrong in that particularly , but can be a bit annoying...
and since we sat home with a beer and shit chatted until twelve o'clock we just ended up walking around a cold village in a big circle before we just headed home ...

lets not go out on weekends anymore.. just sticking to weekday local nights aiight..

Saturday, January 17, 2009

Hot coco in the sun

First day at the mountain !! sky was "almost"blue and the crowds were absent..
I hooked up with C.G . a fellow country man here in Whistler like the rest of us , to enjoy the great life of snowboarding.
He took me out and showed me around, after one warmup run we headed for the funparks..
Started of in the baby park with some rails and small jumps to work it up during the day for bigger gaps and sweller tricks..
Had a great day with lunch on the midstation rendezvous outside terrace viewing the surrounding peaks. Just enjoying my self the fullest..  
And I'ved just started...    


C.G enjoying his hot coco on the mountain..




Thursday, January 15, 2009

My new Home


Here it is.. my new home for the the winter.. so nice to finally unpack and not live in a bag anymore.. though it's a bit of a trip out here it's really nice. 
Clean and only me and a couple living here so it doesn't get messy..  on top..we only have the basement.. there's 5 aussie guys I haven't met yet but rumours say they have a BBQ every weekend.. sounds good !!
I have a 2 x 4 meter room with a big enough closet, heating is working and the shower water can be boiling hot, if that floats your boat.. :)
I got the last of my gear together today at the village, a new helmet and a pair of goggles, so tomorrow it's up early, or not so early maybe, and head for the funpark..
the report shows sunny weather and +10 celcius.. more like a late april day but sure as hell gonna make a good day with what we usually call in Sweden "slaskpark"  
I'm so stoked I can't fall asleep..  gonna try anyway.. 
good night :)

White trash

So I finally got me self a roof over me head, share a basement apartment with a young couple in the other room for about SEK 7000/month.. but I have my own room and anyone's welcome to visit !!  that's very good..
but.. here's the but..

it's far out in the outskirts of Whistler.. You'll have to take the bus like 20 min from town village.. there's no supermarket or anything out here so everyday going to the supermarket to buy food you just simply need to catch the bus.. and you may think that's not to bad.. 
well it wouldn't be if there were only a bus..  nooo you have to change halfway to get to the supermarket, then you have to sit there with your 5 bags of cereals and toiletpaper like the white trash  low life you are, change halfway just to stare like a bum right out in the dark until the next bus take you closer to home...  that's right..
When you finally fight you're way of the bus with only 4 bags left, because one got ripped at someones skis and made a fun bus tombola lottery of your bananas and beercans rolling all around the bus floor.. you I have to walk 5 min  "shortcut through wood following a creek with slippery rocks and opportunities to get really wet, " 15 min if not choose the shortcut.. and out here we don't like to waste important energy on roadlights. it's really black!!  
So yesterday I got back from the store and thought when the sharp plastic handles on the bags made a deep cut in my fingers.. 

-Fuck it I'm not taking the long road.. 

Ending up sitting split over the creek joggling grocery bags like my life depending on it simultaneously  making tap steps on the rocks that would made Fred Astaire jealous !!

I'm such a white trash and I better get used to it when its only 133 more days of total humiliation  ;)


Monday, January 12, 2009

Where did all the snow go.. and a restless soul



Today I feel a bit blue.. before I was really positive and all, and finally I got up to whistler.!!
The last two days in Vancouver the weather was awful.!  zero degrees and rain like ice mixed with snow and a damp fog.. a hell to go out and I never would if I didn't had to.. and like a cherry on the top the heating didn't work on my hotel room, how does 16 degrees sound to you..
Well I held my spirit up thinking, if it rains down here, it probably snows up in the mountains :)
I knew it dumped some good powdah the week before, so I got my hopes up coming to a white whistler with meters of snow..
well... not really.. it's the same as in Vancouver and all the new snow rains away more and more for every minute.. it's a mess..  more like a late spring bad season.. luckily it's a couple of months left of the winter..
on top of that I still don't have a place to live.. searching like crazy but it's soooo expensive, and hard to find any decent people to hang with..
and jobs..  well after a turn down at Hilton today I just went home and sobbed in the couch in my even more expensive rental suite.. but its nice with a fireplace and all..

well I got my act together.. made some spaghetti bolognese for dinner and brownies for dessert, lit a fire and went online..
a bunch of accommodation requests and a job resume sent to a big resort later I got hold of a same aged swede and some contacts to follow up.. feels much better and the smattering logs in the fireplace really feels nice and warm..

I know these first weeks gonna be like this.. and I knew it before coming..  but I want it all NOW!!!   
:)


Finding nemo

It didn't take my long to understand that Canadian girls aren't that pretty.. :( a BIG downer..
but then I come from a country where pretty girls literally grows on trees..
well after the game the other night I went out for a beer before bed.. not knowing where to go and alone.. I wondered the city street and soon I found a funky enough place and entered..
music was good, hip hop and funk, with a girl on the wheels of steel.. very nice.. and to my surprise it seemed that every pretty girl in Vancouver was waiting this restaurant.. or maybe my head played me a prank in the absent of girls to look at.. well I finished my beer slowly and flirted a bit.. but soon my tired body conquered .. and the girl I had flirted with ended her shift and joined the guys behind.. (she had flirted with them all night and not with me)..I took a cab home for some rest and at least a hope of finding nemo...

Sudden death


Second night in town and I was still fighting the absent of sleep and mayor jet lag .. But I thought I would imbibe the American culture.. so with a hotdog in one hand and a beer in the other I climbed the seats of GM arena in Vancouver to join Mats "sudden"Sundin and the other Swedes in Canucks for a game of hockey..
It's amazing how slow everything seems when you're sitting there, compares on TV.. I thought it would be vice versa.. almost ridiculous slow.. and slowest of them all was Mats, his old though but huge, you recognized him easy because he was one head taller then the rest hehe  ..then America whit commercial breaks every 5 min in the game hahaha..  And I thought NHL was the toughest their is... shit they rest more then they play gottdamnit..!!  
Also on tv it seems that the crowd always is shouting and dancing and all that.. not true.. it was rather quit.. I remember more noise at div 6 soccer game home in stode... 
well.. the Canucks lost by 6-4 but I still enjoyed it.. and when I think of it.. damn what a lot of goals.. :)

First day Vancouver



Well I'm there... in great Canada.. and first impression is that.. it really is great..
After a no seat left 10h flight squeezed in between, well guess..  an Indian family..  YES..  more curry, seems that I just can't get rid of them hehe..  (just spend  3 weeks in India, and lets say it wasn't the best experience ) 
So stoked to get up to the mountains, but staying a couple of days in Vancouver to sort things up like banking and SIN number so I can start working..
Canadians are SO friendly and helpful. not like their neighbours down south.. 
like when in the bank I realised that you need a phone number and an address to open an account..

me -  well I don't have an address in whistler yet and only a international phone so far.. but I gonna get one, promise.

Clerk - international..  naah it's ok.. just email me when you get it and when u find a place in whistler.. I'll open it anyway...

AMAZING hehehe