todays outfit

todays outfit
to get some great finish on my tan before I'll go home I bought meself a pair of tanning speedos.
and what other colour cobination could be better right. :)

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

fairy tale


Today I moved into the house we rented for a week.
And it's just the shit..

Right outside there's a path to the beach, and It's a path taken from a Tim Burton movie.!
Feels almost alive with roots and trees hanging or laying across the stomped trail and each other..
And it came to my mind that how grateful I am to be able to see all this amazing places,
they are hard to describe and some of you do encounter places like this so you know what I'm talking about, but not all, and maybe not as frequent..

And I feel like this is a thing that all should be able to see and feel, but if you did it wouldn't be as special for me.. right..

I don't have a clue where I'm going whit this..
guess I'm just happy..!!

:D


Saturday, April 25, 2009

45 days

Maybe some of you forgot all about me snowboarding in the beginning of this trip,
me rambling about surfing and shit now.
or maybe some thought because of my bad fall that I wasn't that good of a rider..?

Well I'm not saying I'm a pro or anything, because I'm most certainly not!!
but I do have some tricks up my sleeve..

And though I just made a shy 45 days up the mountain, I do have my concussion to blame a bit for that, I'm quite happy with it.
And we actually made 3 days stick on tape..

so enjoy..






yeah and I'm sorry rich. It just was to bloody funny..


.

I got the crabs..

We are overwhelmed with crabs here..
Apparently after the first rain every year in the green season these colorful little creatures surge down the hill side towards the beach, leaving their mudholes for reproduction and spawn..
They stop for nothing.. and they comes in thousands..!
During the day you hear some rustling in the grass and dry leaves in the ditches.
Hiding from passing cars and sunlight..
Night time is when they frolic.. everywhere there's a couple of sideway running critters trying to look as big as they can with their claws all spread wide above their heads as if trying to tell me how big of a catch they caught today..
-eh hombre, I swear amigo, ita was thiis biig man.. !!


hehe so cute trying do hide, and they can't climb for shit so they always get caught in a corner towards a wall or a door panicing sideways with all 8 legs simultainously sliding the wall.. then just gives up and spreads their little claw arms for a hug of peace instead..
Walking after sundown, you don't have to listen to carefully to hear the rattling noise of small crab feet towards the concrete sidewalk.. ticitaciticitaci..
and if you don't close your door it doesn't take long before you have some pets hiding under your shoes, t-shirt or just camera or computer cable lying on the floor, peeking at you with it's little corinth tentacle eyes..

So I left one place full of crabs, for another..
but the first one wasn't as cute and funny as this one..
more like a stinger crab that lives on a place where birth control pills are sold in 2 for 1 deals,
if they aren't sold out already...

.

Friday, April 24, 2009

surf report

I got meself a board.!
and not just any board but an Al Merrick one..!   I never thought I ever could afford one but now I have.. It's used though but in very good condition..
It's 6"4 so a tiny bit longer then my precious at home but also a bit narrower, which makes it harder to ride.. but I thought it was time to step it up..!
I got a pretty good deal I think.. the board with some plain fins but a good pro leach for 300 usd..
and with a board like this, if i keep it whole, I could easy get 200 usd back when I leave..
So I thought this was a better deal then buy a crap board for 100 usd and just throw that one away upon leaving..

So just around lunch I made my desicion and bought it.. to eager to try it out I skipped lunch and headed right out to the waves... which wasn't the best today,  more like a washer and with a strong current.. but I think it's a great place for my incoming friend to learn when they don't have to go out the outside and the white waves are really strong..!!

and also 6 month since surfing you just don't have the stamina to paddle out towards the waves anymore.. but sure was fun..
got home for some late lunch and then went out again.. 
hoping for better conditions though soon..

Living's quite good right now with a big enough and clean room ,poolside with the beach just 50 meters away and wifi internet..

hehe is this what they call urban jungle..? 

.

36 hours later


So after 36 hours on 3 busses, 2 flights and a boat I finally made it to the beach..
It's literally just a dirt road with a few houses, restaurants and and hostels scattered along its side..  
We have a bank and a ATM but that's about it.. It's just enough civilized to live here and still enough remote not to lure to many tourist here.. and the surfs GREAT..

Not fun though to travel this far with a cracked tailbone..  yes. don know if I told you but I smashed it again.. good times.. 
So it hurts when sitting or trying to lay down, so imagine on airplanes trying to sleep or on busses on unpaved roads...

And what's up with the border inspectors at the US.. well we all know that right but still..
They really have hard time believing that one can travel for 5 month without working.. well I guess there are more doubters out there.. ;)
Just because no one in their fucked up community can't, doesn't say no one else can't..

Ah this poor bastard looked at all my documents, flight itinerary, scratched his head and asked me the same questions twice.. then another fellow comes up and do the same thing..
Also confusing for them is that I've been in the US more then 10 times the last few years.. they just can't work it out but can't find anything to refuse me entering.. so with a big sigh they stamp my passport and let me pass hehe..

In a week my good friend C.G and his girlfriend Jonna's coming down here for a week of surf..
I've rented a house close to the beach to make it large hehe.. 
until then I'm gonna get myself a surfboard after breakfast and scout the best waves in the region.. 

and I've been told they are the best in the country..!!

.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

last..


Last day in the park was Thursday.
Last day on the mountain was Friday.
Last night out in whistler is tonite
Last day in Canada gonna be tomorrow!!

What can I say.. I'm leaving Canada and with it a piece of myself..!
I'm not gonna sit here and write about all I did and be all melancholic about it because I did that in the earlier post right..

I can just say it has been a real pleasure and quite an adventure to be on a place like this, this long and sort of have your daily routines somewhere else .. such a nice daily routines as well..!!

So I'm leaving, and what a better way then doing it whistler stylee'
On Friday we went on a wet t-shirt contest at a bar..!
On Saturday we went to a skier Big jump comp with a couple of the best skier in the world.
Tonite it's C.Gs birthday and the Beatnuts are playing!!

So I thank you for checking in and hope you enjoyed..

but it's not over yet..
tomorrow I board a plane for 6 weeks surfing Costa Rica..

so Hasta Luego..!!
.

nature calls


The other day when doing fresh tracks Rich felt a sudden need to relief himself..
what he didn't calculate in his plans was that 
1. I was there.
2. I had a camera.
3. Never trust someone with a smile like the cat from Alice in wonderland. 

so we pranked him and had a great laugh..!
and of course this was more fun on only 3 hours of sleep but here it goes..



.

sticks n' tits




Tonight we did something totally different..
We actually played hockey ourselves..!

A friend of the house had reserved the whole ice rink between 24-02 at night and got some houses together for some midnight fun..
Instead of just go out and drink beer we met up at the skating rink, tied on a pair of skates and had a tournament.. a tournament which we won the price of being the most crappy team hehe..

It was really fun to See all the snowboarders and skiers that hardly ever have had a pair of skates on trying to fight to score or even get the puck..
It was like bambi on ice 10 folds !!
We had a few, mostly all swedish actually, that could play. and nicely of them they let everybody have fun and play.
Including C.G that played as a keeper for many years as a young native swede..

But otherwise it was a circus with people falling over, slamming in to the side or just simply going in a direction not chosen by themselves..
Including myself that haven't been standing on a pair of skates for over 15 years, and even then they called me batman because I was wearing out the leather on the skates not able to skate properly on the sharp end of them..

But at least we had a war paint going on our faces and for sure had the most laugh out of it..
and while waiting there for the others, got there a bit early, we watched a real local hockey game. and when finished a girl in one of the teams just throws her clothes of and streaks..
goes out in the middle of the ice and has a little nude dance for the ice cleaner hehe..

afterwards the referee called a penalty ..  5 min mayor for charging..!

for more pics click here...

.

Friday, April 17, 2009

surreal but fun


Did we got a surprise this week or not..

a few days ago they were doing the fresh tracks for the last time this season,
and the boys had some tickets over from bulking up on them earlier.
So we thought it would be nice to go up everybody for some breakfast and to get the great opportunity to wake up 5.30 in the morning to stand in line for an hour one last time..

As usual we were among the 10 first people in the line, and as we predicted the line started to grow bigger then ever, earlier then usual because of the absents of snow this season, and people obviously gonna have tickets they wanna use..

So well worth getting up early to get the best of it right.. I mean 15-20 min in the morning still don't give that much right.. yes it does but anyways.. I'm really glad we did go up early..

Well up the top there were still below temperatures and apparently all the rain that had fallen in the village had fallen as snow up here.. and a good 20-30 cm aswell..
Boy did we get stoked..

So for the last time this season we chucked down as much as you possible can in 15 min, filled zip-lock bags and tupperware boxes full of fruit, cereals, yogurt, bacon, muffins and all you can think of the get as much as possible out of the buffe'. Then out the doors and shred some fresh powder..
and because nobody really expected the amount of snow everybody was caught off guard and we found some great tracks..

The best thing was that we stayed 4 people in our little group, don't wanna be to many riding pow ending up waiting and loosing virgin snow..
and all agreed that we would go to the peak chair lift and wait for it to open to be first up the peak with all it's glory..
It was still snowing and the visibility wasn't the best in the morning so it was dead empty when we got down, asked the liftie when they were going to open ,if it was any idea waiting..
the answer was maybe an hour, so we looked at each other and undid our bindings..

We played around a bit outside and in the lift when the guy said we could wait inside..
and so we did.
After maybe 30 min some more people found the way down and starting to build a line..
So great sitting inside the little lift hut being warm chatting around with the lift guy looking out on the poor bastards thinking they are first, then just before they open you grab your board and take the first chair up the peak in front of everybody, imagine the long faces hehe..

And what a run.. I made it before with Renen but then we where maybe 10th chair up.. now we were No; uno!! and in mid April, and the Sun started to show..!!

Maybe had the best day of the season. absolute mad!
and the next day we were out in the park making stunts in T-shirt and 15 degrees in the sun..!! 

Bizarre and surreal!!!

love it... love it..!


Making the 15 dollars worth it..
ate free spaghetti carbonara that night, and breakfast the rest of the week :) 
do I look innocent enough..? hehe 
 

.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

unwanted guests


I
'm apparently not the only guest in the house..
there has been a little mouse living down the walls and cupboards in the kitchen nibbling on our food..
So after a week of not so happy surprises in the breakfast cereals we went and bought a mousetrap..  and just
 in case it would be a fat little fellow we got the biggest they had...
Set it up under the stairs with peanut butter as lure.. 
now there was only waiting..

but he never bought it.. smart little bastard this.. and he kept eating on our food.

So one day Nat heard him in one of the cupboards .. she's vegetarian and was the only one not liking the trap.  So armed with a strainer "durkslag" and a frying pan in her hands and with me one meter behind with my boarding gloves on we thought we outta catch it..

opening the door and piece by raisin packet we emptied the cupboard..
and soon we saw him scared as hell trying to hide in a corner,
looking up on us while shaking as an autumn leaf he made a run for it.. but Nat caught him in the strainer and put the frying pan on top.
the evil little decease spreader were now imprisoned..

Nat got so happy she caught him so she ran around shouting in joy.
-I caught him, I caught him.! I caught Freddie.. that's what we decided to call him earlier when we first noticed holes in our bags..

I went up to leave my gloves when I heard Nat screaming again downstairs, and this time not in joy.. turned around down the stairs quickly again as the hullabaloo got more loud.

In the end of the stairs I encountered maybe the most hilarious scene in whistler history..!
There, by the kitchen table, I saw Nat slamming the strainer in Freddies little head crying.
-I don't want to kill him, I don't want to kill him!! 

Apparently she got curious and wanted to see , according to her, the poor cute little furry pet and lift the lid.
what HE  saw was a big eyed grinning scary giant ready to bolt him down in one piece and took his chance and just one lined it for the safety zone in the wall..

After 20 sec of wild joggling with a scared for life living  mouse she got him on top of the table and put the lid on..

For better viewing we made a little nest in a shoe box with a peeking hole out of cellophane before we took him out to the woods..
also fed him with a peanut and some weed to get him relaxed.. 
and also to get the chance to see a stoned mouse hehe..


daddy.. why is the burger all black?


Springtime living also involve some more BBQs right.. Yes it does ..

We were invited to some friends of Simon just further away the street..
3 girls living in a mansion and paying less than most.. and definitely less then C.G and the guys sharing rooms, and they got their own BIG room with a monster terrace overviewing the mountains slopes and village, 2 full tiled bathrooms, a big open kitchen and living room with flatscreen TV and a gym/spa with panorama windows..
Got damn this is how you should live.. but here more then anywhere else it's so much easier being a girl.. it just is.. 3 guys would never had got that deal..  not jealous ..

But we brought some beers and I a steak for once.
usually BBQ here means hamburger and drinking, lots of drinking..!
and because C.G and I are a pair of old crackers we took it easy not looking forward a day being hungover in the slopes..

But we had fun, nice time out on the enormous terrace sort of in charge of the grill..
, at this time all the little people where a bit to tipsy , and maybe naive and girly, to be able to handle a grill,  
when we got there there was nothing going on food wise. they'd just brought the coal, grill and the food out on a big table and left it for someone responsible to take care of it..
It's how everybody does it here..
the mentality is me me me, I go first but I don't wanna do anything, if I leave it long enough someone will do it for me..
So I took my grown up responsibility and acted father once again. ;) . mostly because I was hungry as hell..

Poured some coal in, lit it and starting flipping burgers and me own steak while sipping
a couple of beers and watching the kids play drinking games in the common area
enjoying the great view over the village as the twilight sat it's mark upon it..
and ironic enough.. when I left my post as the head stoker it only took about 10 min before the whole thing was on fire and people were trying to put it out with hamburgers...
  .. at 12 it was time so I bed farewell and walked home to my sofa...

still another great night..


Nilz calling Tom to join us.
  


.

.

Friday, April 10, 2009

stoopid monkey


F
ound this on craigslist..

and the thing is that girls probably will contact him..

For rent:
Left side of a queen bed in one room of a very nice 4bdrm condo. Half a walk in closet. Private hot tub, gourmet kitchen, big screen TV.
Looking for a cute 19-24 year old snowbunny, preferably blonde, aussies OK but you can't say "funny as" or "sick as" without finishing the sentence. (this will be on the lease agreement, I will kick you out). I guess the room would suit 2 people (+me) as long as the second meets the criteria as well. And throw in a little 3-way action a couple times a week.
Price: 24 beers, weekly. Broke? sexual favors work too. And sharing a bed with me ;) handsome, early 20's shred addict.
Available now til Oct 31 2009


There's many things that's funny about it, he's quite a character..
let's start at the very first word even!!

LEFT side of queen bed.. haha he's a generous fellow..

later in the text he describes the place as a 4 bedroom place..
so there's at least 3 other in the house, but considering we're in Whistler the odds are more likely 6-9 other in the house.. nice privacy.. and do they also want a piece of the 'rent' ..?? and do he has the 'private hot tub' in the bedroom?? well wouldn't be surprised with this douche..

well you read it..

I really would like to see him, he thinks really highly of him selves handling 2 'snowbunnies' and also being all like you can't say this or you can't say that for I kick you out..
you think you're that hansom do ya.. hehehe

what a dickhead..

.

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

home sick




The other day C.G found a treasure in the grocery store.
SWEDISH LINGONBERRY JAM!!

So I prompted that we should make a swedish dinner together,
we called Martin to join us as well and had a fantastic experience with meatballs, mashed potatoes and of course our golden jam from the north..

ahh it tasted soooo good you can't believe it!! 
and how funny a little thing like that can make your home sickness much more numb.. :)

.

Sunday, April 5, 2009

no reason


In the past couple of nights I have been surfing the couch at C.Gs
I simply got thrown out from my room..??

Grant ,which is the name on the old fucker owning the house I used to live in just got mental on me.
The last couple of weeks he has been really grumpy and rude, so I just thought that I'll just ride out the remaining 3 weeks and try to not be in his way right..

Even Renen felt the tense air the last week of his stay..

Anyways, he's a master of scribbling his name on everything that's his and also big notes like, Refill when empty  !!!  or  don't touch !!!

And on Friday morning when I went to the bathroom, this woke my tired eyes up a bit...


He bloody wrote his name on TP. !!!
wwwoohahahaha  get a fuckin life man..!

A few days earlier I had bought some and stored it under the sink..
So I checked..
and he had f..... written Brooke's name on it!!!!   that's the other girl living in the 3rd room..
I mean coome on..

So I just took the marker and wrote big..
Sorry Grant, I bought this, it's for everybody..!!!

Shouldn't done that...

When I got home he went in his room and slammed the door.. and there was a big note on my door saying I was stupid, rude and that he never been treated this disrespectful before in his LIFE!!!

When I called him out to the kitchen to talk about what the problem was he just shouted some obscene stuff from his room like a 3 year old..

So I just said that if he gave me my 300 dollar deposit back I could leave right away if that's what he wanted.. I mean I had paid the full April rent already...

Oh oh.. now he throws up the door and stands on his toes screaming at me spitting wildly like an bulldog..!!
I couldn't reason with him because I couldn't get my self heard.. even less hear what I was thinking..
I was , apparently, SO incredible stupid and brought up by retards, and Renen was the second biggest idiot he met, but that wasn't a surprise because all from Sweden are dickheads and I should go back to my stupid country and never leave and so on and so on for 10 min..

hehhehe I just stood there and laughed and agreed with him.. right I am a bit stupid actually, and we are so freakishly weird in Sweden...
Then just packed my stuff and called a cab leaving for C.Gs place, where they apparently are a bit numb being affected of the stupidness of Swedish people since living with C.G ...

So I'm good on the couch here for a few nights and hopefully there's a bed available in a house nearby that I can borrow until I leave in 2 weeks..

crazy stuff..



Saturday, April 4, 2009

last day of pow


O
h my god ..!!

Today we really made it an adventure..
The spring is making itself more present and we're just fine with that, some slush park riding in the warm spring sun is always good and fun..

But I felt there were one bit missing, so we planned some hiking missions on friday when we just had some 10-15cm of snow and sunny reports for the weekend.

and so we did, met up with C.G, Martin and his girlfriend Tanya at 9.30 and went up to the peak to find some untouched stuff..

Started out with a mad run trough the woods on a side I never ridden before and we were all smiling at the bottom again. :)

On the way up I told the crew about a place me and Renen scouted but never got the time to ride.
It's a mad untouched steep really open forest ride apparently all the way to the bottom on the far side of whistler, but warned that there could be a hike back to civilisation for 1-2 hours along the creek finally down there..

They just looked at each other for a second before returning to me and answered simultaneously .. Let's do it..!!

Dropped down the peak around 11.30 and had maybe the best riding time and experience in my snowboarding life!!
Not super deep but still good and soooo untouched!!!

We all enjoyed the long run down.. but a bit earlier then we expected the wood was closing in on us and pushed us down a creek that eventually turned to a 25m waterfall..

So the ride was over, now we only had to get down to flat ground and back to the highway..

After sliding down steep forest and narrow bushes on the ass for more then an hour we finally made it to more stable foundation..

Lucky enough we just hit the beginning of an trail with a sign pointing towards human village..
the only thing was that under it there were five symbols..

the five symbols were as following

8.5 km



hehe at least we were on a road so we had some water and snack and started walking, singing the little tune from disney's 7 dwarfs , hey ho hey ho we're off the mountain go , ..

2.5 hours later we sat in the village eating well deserved greek fastfood and coca cola :)
time now 17:00

But well worth it and what an adventure!!


for more nice pics check out C.Gs blog down the left or click here...




.

Wednesday, April 1, 2009