todays outfit

todays outfit
to get some great finish on my tan before I'll go home I bought meself a pair of tanning speedos.
and what other colour cobination could be better right. :)

Friday, May 29, 2009

seen it, done it and got the t-shirt


So I reached the end of the rainbow, and it's beautiful..!

All there's left now is to turn around and go home..

I didn't get the grand finale I wanted when the waves got small last two days.. 
but I still enjoyed them, just sitting there on my board floating in the sunset was a good ending, feeling almost like the lone ranger rinding away on his horse in the end of the movie..

I spent my last meals in my favourite places and after packing, I went to the local disco for one last reggae night and once again I was ashamed for my own race..

Why is it that white people can't move to music, and even less to the beat..
What is it in our inheritance that make's us so got damn ugly and out of rhythm.. 
well that's another post some other time..

I understand now that I'm truly blessed..

So this is my official goodbye!
thank you for tuning in, all five of you that reading this hehe.. 
It's been great, hope you enjoyed it and that I spread some smiles through the winter darkness..

I know I sure did enjoy it..!

don't forget .. I'M here to entertain YOU..


but I do have a feeling I might have one last adventure for you waiting.
so log in sometime next week for the prologue 


thank you and goodbye!
with Love

yours truly

.



    

Sunday, May 24, 2009

stranded


The least I needed was for me to ruin my board right now..
and I just had to go and do that didn't I..

The swell have been monstrous the last few days,  we're talking 3m+ waves, and for you that think that doesn't sounds so big , I dare you to come down here and even try to paddle out..

One good thing is that it's not as crowded, only the best locals still ripping..!
I was out there as well but after 2-3 waves I was beat from all the paddling and forcing the giant walls of water coming at you, so I just went up the beach for a breather.. then paddled out for 1-2 waves before needing a rest again..   short intense sessions right now..
but better too big then nothing at all !!

So yesterday just before lunch
time I caught one or two, and tumbled around in a couple of more..
getting frustrated " as always when u got high expectation of yourself " I thought I go for one last round before quitting the day and go for lunch.. It was big but I could handle it, you just have to gather your strength and get yourself through those first 10 waves..
And I know this so bad, you should never go for a last run..!

So after finishing a good left I was hopeful and started paddling out again.
Just to see that big wave Allan was building himself up to above 4m farther out, and I knew at an instant that I was in no good position..
So in a fraction of a second I had to make up my mind whether I should try to paddle against it, hoping my speed towards the great blue wall was fast enough so I could get under it, or turn around and get washed up on the beach with saltwater dripping from your sinuses for the rest of the week..
Full of cockyness from past days and rides giving up wasn't an option, so I started moving my tired arms in a quick crawling motion knowing my chance to make it clear were slim.

the last thing I felt before everything went white was a massive blunt force hitting me on my back when Allan laid his vengeance on me with all his fury and anger...

When I reached surface again my ears were ringing and the whole world was a big foamy washer.
No time to loose I yanked my right foot, attached my leach made the board float my way, mounted it and start paddling again.
Waves are in nature cowards and seldom come alone..

On grabbing  my board again I could feel a big lateral side-to-side canyon like ding across the mid section of my board.
It was broken in almost two...


Apparently I wasn't fast enough, the big wave raised tall straight in front of me and came down hard. With nowhere to go I just clinched my board and tried to get some depth between me and the surface, making me do a flip under water when the force of water falling 2 stories high landed on my back and kept me under for 20 sec..
Apparently that stunt, me trying to go down and the wave throwing me head first in an underwater backflip upwards, made a conflict in the law of physics and the nose part of my board gave..

Luckely the wave had thrown me almost straight down and up again, instead of back towards the beach, I made it through the next oncoming two waves before I pointed the nose in the direction of solid ground and actually made an decent left on return, all the way just waiting the nose to pop for real any second..

So here I am, my five last days of surfing without a board, money to buy a new or even repair or rent another..
I was really needing the money from selling it, and my luck.!
I actually had been talking to this girl working at the place I stay at the night before. 
She was really interested in buying it for 100 bucks when I left when the size was good for her and everything, she just wanted to check it out first..

Repair could be done when the core wasn't broken, but would cost me between 50-75 bucks..

FUCK!!!

well... as the good samaritan I am.
I gave the broken board to the girl and told her I was sorry I broke it, but it was hers if she wanted, and sort with repair herself..

She was so happy she was hopping up and down clapping her hands and gave me five kisses on the cheek..

Me... well today I took it easy reading at the beach and checking the swell, 
tomorrow I'll rob the bank and rent meself a little 6"0  the four lasting days..



the show must go on...

.

Friday, May 22, 2009

costa rica weather report


Hey ya'll

Nothing much going on at this site for the moment.
Just wanna check in and tell ya'll I'm alive and kickin' .

The thing is that I'm just living my life and got in the routine down here, so not much out of the ordinary to report about..
Well it depends on who's setting the standards, but at this moment I am. 

I surf about 2-4 hours a day, when not I'm just chilling in a hammock, reading a book, plow through about a book a week right now, or just gaze at the ocean or sunset with some music or a movie in bed and accasional a beer at the local place watching the other mammals socialize at the water-hole.. 

this is not the last post I'll make, but it's one of them..
so keep on looking for the next one, even if it may take a few days...


wish u all were here with me.

pura vida

.

Sunday, May 17, 2009

tell mama


Happy happy joy joy.!

On friday morning I packed my stuff and took the bus once again across the peninsula back to Santa Teresa. This time it only took 6-7 hours.

And boy do I feel glad.!
This morning, second day of surfing and first morning session on return I went up just after sun break, downed a glass of o-j, grabbed a sandwich with nutella in one hand and my board in the other and went for the beach..
Only 50 meters away laid an almost completely empty beach with rolling 2-3 meters waves pushing in under a clear bleu sky.. 

I inhaled deeply through my nose and felt total peace, strapped my leach on and paddle out with a big smile on my face.!

Someone call mama and tell her not to worry.!
Her baby is finally home.!

.

Saturday, May 16, 2009

cute critters


H
ello everybody, glad you could make it.
You know a funny thing happend to me on the way over here.. hehe.. 

I was walking home from lunch one day and got surprised by an falling squirrel.!
He just dropped 5 meters and landed with a big thud on the ground 2 meters from me..
Apparently he'd been balancing the tele and electrical wires along the road and got electrified.!

At first I didn't know what big orange thing was attacking me from above.. 
But on Impact I recognized the furry critter, and he was so cute.

Obviously the electric shock didn't just make him loose his grip, but also temporarily paralyzed him from his little squirrel wast and down.
Trying to get out of clearing he spun around on the spot a couple of times before heading towards a distant tree, seemingly dizzy from his shock and with a panic in his little eyes he tried to run, but with only his front paws working it was more like a crawl, dragging his lower body behind him all numb in the dirt and his friend still up on the wires following him intensively I couldn't stop from laughing..! 

The two adventurers met at the same tree, the half paralyzed clinging to the tree branch with a solid grip, his eyes big as of a rabbit, breathing heavy and his little rodent heart beating in 200, probably wondering what the f... just happend..

so cute.. 

You maybe noticed I like animals by now..! and Costa Rica is really rich on them as well.
hence the name.. 

They host everything from monkeys and jaguars to slots and skunks, and under the surface awaits top three of the most sharks per cubic meter of water on the planet.!

They also are rich on birdlife and I've seen humming birds while reading in my hammock and parakeets flying in the sunset. 
But there's one that caught my interest the most, maybe cause it's like the woodpecker on christmas tv..
They're not as coulorful when they are all black, but you see and hear them everywhere.
They can make the most weird noises, and 100's of them too, you'll look up in the sky expecting a pack of 20 different birds, when it's just 2 or 3 of this birds making a cracking out of it.

On another day I had a similar experience like the squirrel, but with these birds..
On Sunset every afternoon they gather up in ONE tree down by the beach, and have a party!!
I think they are trying to mate up, or just meet to fight or something, hundreds of birds flying in and out the tree branches squeaking, whistling and making all the sounds they can at the same time..  
Just think of 3pm Disney hour on TV and Mickey Mouse's christmas tree when pluto drags everybody in chasing chip and dale..  that's how it looks and sounds.. 
One night standing there, 2 birds entangled in each other falls straight to the ground like a bowling ball.. gets loose, shake off and fly straight back up the tree again..

made my day..

First morning a couple of weeks ago I woke up to what I thought was a squealing pig, and it would never stop.. it was like the roosters of pigs grunting to the sunrise.. and it was close too, was it so dark last night I didn't see it was a pig farm I've entered..
I open the door and see no pigs, and it strikes me, I'm in Costa Rica.
Howling Monkeys sitting in the trees just above my room and make a name for themselves..! 

And this morning I saw maybe the smallest cutest dog I've ever seen, not even big as my right hand..
Belonging to a cafe shop owner he stumbled around the patio when I ate breakfast.
And he got a good future as a guarding dog, when he saw me he came running and I put a hand down to pet him, the cute little thing.
But he wasn't up to play, he attacked me with all his fury hehe.
He was battling my hand with all he had, biting, jumping, and making big dogs noises, only making him even more cute, and when I stopped playing with him and got back to my scrambled eggs he went on my foot and flip flop determined to kill my toes with biting and shaking hihi..  cutest ever..!


.   

Monday, May 11, 2009

samara


Samara.. Isn't that a name of a cat or a Persian girl..?
Well both is correct actually, and it's also a name of a little village on the pacific coast of
Costa Rica.
I have now spent almost a week in this place named after a beautiful girl from the middle east once brought here as a lover of a Spanish captain, she loved this place and it's scenic beaches so much, and the captain her so he built her a castle on one of the islands outside the shore, but she died in syphilis before the last stone was in place.
In years it stood empty before it was used as a prison for decades, in the 1930s a hurricane almost levelled it by the rocks and now it just poses as a authentic silhouette in the sunset and a cold reminder that civilization and syphilization goes hand in hand..

Didn't know what my first impression was, not so bad I recall saying to may self, not wanting it to be crap and jinx it..
well it's not crap, but the waves are just ain't that big, and you can't even go out on low tide because there's no waves at all then..
and maybe it's not all the waves, but it's just a small strip of the bay that gets swell, and that bit is crowded like a flume ride cue at Disneyland in mid july..
And I hate having to fight for my waves, especially when they aren't that great.

The village itself is more like a square village compared to Santa T, which is nice, but the people here are more like 50+ couples or drinking buds from the big fat country ..
And when having breakfast this morning, seeing a ponytail wearing 55 year old thinks he's all that with that upstuck American look and with Joyce, a 45+ think I am 20 and wear slutty short skirts and Dolly P. sized boobs, at his side.
I just knew I got to get out of here..!

No I make it sounds like hell.. and it's not.!! it's pretty nice, but the clientele is not really my cup of tea.
Today at surf time it started to rain, which emptied the water rather quick.
but it wasn't all bad, actually very good.!
It was a warm summer rain with the sun still shining on you while setting below the clouds in the horizon.
and it lasted only for a half an hour, and it was nice floating on your board with the thunder rumble in a far distance.. and for once there were no battle about the waves..
I had easy 15-20 goes , still small but with no locals or learning tourist breathing down your neck it actually was fun playing around a bit..

and I live pretty good.. or what do you think..


.

Thursday, May 7, 2009

three flew the vultures nest


T
he kids has flew their nests and left me all alone by the breakfast table..
Great times having C.G and Jonna with me here playing plump and with the waves.

Two days before departing they rented a ATV and went for some waterfalls nearby, Myself still on the pill let them go by their own for some quality time, and I really didn't have the energy for it with acing ears.
Came home after a great day and some good and bad experiences..
Apparently a guy jumped the cliffs and never surfaced again. a 32 year old tourist.
Not a great way to end your vacation..

So if they don't die jumping the big hills in whistler they do it in front of us from cliffs in the tropics..

To happier things.
on the last day we went out on high tide to get some bigger waves for my young apprentices, and the waves were just amazing.
Medium too small sized forgiving waves with hardly any closeout at all but with enough power to make a few turns on.!!
After shouting at C.G to paddle farther out an hour I couldn't hold myself..
When they came up for a breather I snuck C.Gs funboard and paddle out for two waves to ease my cravings making sure my head was above the surface.!!
It felt soooo gooood.!! though I'm longing to get well and rip with my board again soon.. :)

After debating with myself staying or not, I have had such a great time in
Santa Teresa, I decided to go see something else.
Moving up the coast to a place called Samara, a little more developed village with some decent surf I've heard, only 50 km north I thought that would be a good place to check out, but you didn't think it would be that easy did you..

Because of the none existing quality on the coastal road there's no public transport, and with the taxis being as expensive as in Stockholm I was bound to go around the whole peninsula to get there.. at 5.30 in the sunrise I jumped on the first public bus out of the village starting a very bumpy 12 hour journey..
And my question is.:

Why do they always have to either accelerate or brake? there's never a level in between just holding your speed.
Also why don't they start breaking a bit sooner? always stomps it in the last second making everything in the bus change places like a freggin tombola.!
And for Christ sake.. what's up with the music!!
First of all, why even play anything, second why the hell so LOUD! and third,
Why is it that in the whole of Americas south of Texas, every bus driver doesn't just like, but eagerly likes to share the same style of music.
It sound like a " the best of Hotorgs Indianerna" cd with a euro techno salsa beat pumping in the background !!
It's as annoying as hilarious...

So halfway through we encounter a pack of vultures feasting on a road kill in the middle of the road..
Upon discovery they make a rightfully decision and make a run(flight) for it.
Imagine the bus leaping from side to side on the pot hole filled gravel road in hundred fifty, almost like on beat, following the accompanied hysterical salsa beat with a mad panflute Indian on crack!!
I think they made a good move..

one two step turn! back slide other side jump! spin spin flip and back! round round forward and stop..!!

While the smart vultures goes out to the side, one decides to go in the direction of the oncoming bus. Vultures not being the most elegant and agile creatures of the sky, he struggles to get some air beneath him.!
The driver, gladly beating his fingers on the steering wheel enjoying his new mixed cd he recently picked up from the post office, a gift from his distant cousins in northen european, not willing to hit the big bird stompes the break peddle, hard enough to fool the other vultures on a meal, and quick enough not to loose to much of the momentum down the hill.
Making all the passangers in the more then half filled bus now sitting in the first 3 rows.!!

Well I made it without bruses, and I've done worse.
Now sipping a fresh pineapple juice on the beach checking out the surf..
Tomorrow's gonna be the first day after the meds that I'll make a surfing one, and it's maybe not Santa Teresa but it doesn't look bad at all,

not bad at all...

.

Sunday, May 3, 2009

body and soul

Here we go again.!!
I'm truly getting old!! my body can't take all the physical abuse my mind willingly throws it head first any longer..
I'm on antibiotics again.

Two weeks of heavy surfing and my ears couldn't stand more pounding waves..
ear infection in not one, but in both..  maybe because I left it to heal itself for a week still surfing two sessions a day, before finally this morning the pain was to great to ignore and I dragged myself to the doctor.
4-5 days resting in the hammock, some antibiotic drops and pills and some pain relief he ordinated.

a not too bad of a recovering method..  

I'm glad I got a total of 6 weeks here, so you have time getting hurt I mean :)
It just sucks being ill when I got my friend here, me trying to help them get going with surfing and all.
which by the way they really got a hang on and showing some great fighting spirits.!
I'll guess I just have to shout and point with my whole hand from the beach instead of my board..



.

Friday, May 1, 2009

villa iguana

I think I never lived this nice, and cheap at the same time like we do right now.
Our villa's called Iguana and it's located a bit up from the main (only) road which is good because it's quiet, and warm, as a sauna i july..
but the close vegitation gives an exellent shadow and also some really good insight protection.!
We can go around our little garden and patio and have an outside shower all nude and nobody's around..

The house has tw
o big bedrooms and is fully built in teak wood, it's almost like a swedish winter cottage, but with palmtrees souranding and 35 degrees on the other side of zero..

We got the full package here with a full kitchen with fridge for cooling beer and holding ice,
a blender for fresh fruit drinks with or without rum and twinkling patio lights for that ambient after surf evenings in one of our two hammocks..

This morning I made what I call brazilian pancakes which were gladly wolfed down by my housemates..

THIS IS LIFE





.


.

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

fairy tale


Today I moved into the house we rented for a week.
And it's just the shit..

Right outside there's a path to the beach, and It's a path taken from a Tim Burton movie.!
Feels almost alive with roots and trees hanging or laying across the stomped trail and each other..
And it came to my mind that how grateful I am to be able to see all this amazing places,
they are hard to describe and some of you do encounter places like this so you know what I'm talking about, but not all, and maybe not as frequent..

And I feel like this is a thing that all should be able to see and feel, but if you did it wouldn't be as special for me.. right..

I don't have a clue where I'm going whit this..
guess I'm just happy..!!

:D


Saturday, April 25, 2009

45 days

Maybe some of you forgot all about me snowboarding in the beginning of this trip,
me rambling about surfing and shit now.
or maybe some thought because of my bad fall that I wasn't that good of a rider..?

Well I'm not saying I'm a pro or anything, because I'm most certainly not!!
but I do have some tricks up my sleeve..

And though I just made a shy 45 days up the mountain, I do have my concussion to blame a bit for that, I'm quite happy with it.
And we actually made 3 days stick on tape..

so enjoy..






yeah and I'm sorry rich. It just was to bloody funny..


.

I got the crabs..

We are overwhelmed with crabs here..
Apparently after the first rain every year in the green season these colorful little creatures surge down the hill side towards the beach, leaving their mudholes for reproduction and spawn..
They stop for nothing.. and they comes in thousands..!
During the day you hear some rustling in the grass and dry leaves in the ditches.
Hiding from passing cars and sunlight..
Night time is when they frolic.. everywhere there's a couple of sideway running critters trying to look as big as they can with their claws all spread wide above their heads as if trying to tell me how big of a catch they caught today..
-eh hombre, I swear amigo, ita was thiis biig man.. !!


hehe so cute trying do hide, and they can't climb for shit so they always get caught in a corner towards a wall or a door panicing sideways with all 8 legs simultainously sliding the wall.. then just gives up and spreads their little claw arms for a hug of peace instead..
Walking after sundown, you don't have to listen to carefully to hear the rattling noise of small crab feet towards the concrete sidewalk.. ticitaciticitaci..
and if you don't close your door it doesn't take long before you have some pets hiding under your shoes, t-shirt or just camera or computer cable lying on the floor, peeking at you with it's little corinth tentacle eyes..

So I left one place full of crabs, for another..
but the first one wasn't as cute and funny as this one..
more like a stinger crab that lives on a place where birth control pills are sold in 2 for 1 deals,
if they aren't sold out already...

.

Friday, April 24, 2009

surf report

I got meself a board.!
and not just any board but an Al Merrick one..!   I never thought I ever could afford one but now I have.. It's used though but in very good condition..
It's 6"4 so a tiny bit longer then my precious at home but also a bit narrower, which makes it harder to ride.. but I thought it was time to step it up..!
I got a pretty good deal I think.. the board with some plain fins but a good pro leach for 300 usd..
and with a board like this, if i keep it whole, I could easy get 200 usd back when I leave..
So I thought this was a better deal then buy a crap board for 100 usd and just throw that one away upon leaving..

So just around lunch I made my desicion and bought it.. to eager to try it out I skipped lunch and headed right out to the waves... which wasn't the best today,  more like a washer and with a strong current.. but I think it's a great place for my incoming friend to learn when they don't have to go out the outside and the white waves are really strong..!!

and also 6 month since surfing you just don't have the stamina to paddle out towards the waves anymore.. but sure was fun..
got home for some late lunch and then went out again.. 
hoping for better conditions though soon..

Living's quite good right now with a big enough and clean room ,poolside with the beach just 50 meters away and wifi internet..

hehe is this what they call urban jungle..? 

.

36 hours later


So after 36 hours on 3 busses, 2 flights and a boat I finally made it to the beach..
It's literally just a dirt road with a few houses, restaurants and and hostels scattered along its side..  
We have a bank and a ATM but that's about it.. It's just enough civilized to live here and still enough remote not to lure to many tourist here.. and the surfs GREAT..

Not fun though to travel this far with a cracked tailbone..  yes. don know if I told you but I smashed it again.. good times.. 
So it hurts when sitting or trying to lay down, so imagine on airplanes trying to sleep or on busses on unpaved roads...

And what's up with the border inspectors at the US.. well we all know that right but still..
They really have hard time believing that one can travel for 5 month without working.. well I guess there are more doubters out there.. ;)
Just because no one in their fucked up community can't, doesn't say no one else can't..

Ah this poor bastard looked at all my documents, flight itinerary, scratched his head and asked me the same questions twice.. then another fellow comes up and do the same thing..
Also confusing for them is that I've been in the US more then 10 times the last few years.. they just can't work it out but can't find anything to refuse me entering.. so with a big sigh they stamp my passport and let me pass hehe..

In a week my good friend C.G and his girlfriend Jonna's coming down here for a week of surf..
I've rented a house close to the beach to make it large hehe.. 
until then I'm gonna get myself a surfboard after breakfast and scout the best waves in the region.. 

and I've been told they are the best in the country..!!

.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

last..


Last day in the park was Thursday.
Last day on the mountain was Friday.
Last night out in whistler is tonite
Last day in Canada gonna be tomorrow!!

What can I say.. I'm leaving Canada and with it a piece of myself..!
I'm not gonna sit here and write about all I did and be all melancholic about it because I did that in the earlier post right..

I can just say it has been a real pleasure and quite an adventure to be on a place like this, this long and sort of have your daily routines somewhere else .. such a nice daily routines as well..!!

So I'm leaving, and what a better way then doing it whistler stylee'
On Friday we went on a wet t-shirt contest at a bar..!
On Saturday we went to a skier Big jump comp with a couple of the best skier in the world.
Tonite it's C.Gs birthday and the Beatnuts are playing!!

So I thank you for checking in and hope you enjoyed..

but it's not over yet..
tomorrow I board a plane for 6 weeks surfing Costa Rica..

so Hasta Luego..!!
.

nature calls


The other day when doing fresh tracks Rich felt a sudden need to relief himself..
what he didn't calculate in his plans was that 
1. I was there.
2. I had a camera.
3. Never trust someone with a smile like the cat from Alice in wonderland. 

so we pranked him and had a great laugh..!
and of course this was more fun on only 3 hours of sleep but here it goes..



.

sticks n' tits




Tonight we did something totally different..
We actually played hockey ourselves..!

A friend of the house had reserved the whole ice rink between 24-02 at night and got some houses together for some midnight fun..
Instead of just go out and drink beer we met up at the skating rink, tied on a pair of skates and had a tournament.. a tournament which we won the price of being the most crappy team hehe..

It was really fun to See all the snowboarders and skiers that hardly ever have had a pair of skates on trying to fight to score or even get the puck..
It was like bambi on ice 10 folds !!
We had a few, mostly all swedish actually, that could play. and nicely of them they let everybody have fun and play.
Including C.G that played as a keeper for many years as a young native swede..

But otherwise it was a circus with people falling over, slamming in to the side or just simply going in a direction not chosen by themselves..
Including myself that haven't been standing on a pair of skates for over 15 years, and even then they called me batman because I was wearing out the leather on the skates not able to skate properly on the sharp end of them..

But at least we had a war paint going on our faces and for sure had the most laugh out of it..
and while waiting there for the others, got there a bit early, we watched a real local hockey game. and when finished a girl in one of the teams just throws her clothes of and streaks..
goes out in the middle of the ice and has a little nude dance for the ice cleaner hehe..

afterwards the referee called a penalty ..  5 min mayor for charging..!

for more pics click here...

.

Friday, April 17, 2009

surreal but fun


Did we got a surprise this week or not..

a few days ago they were doing the fresh tracks for the last time this season,
and the boys had some tickets over from bulking up on them earlier.
So we thought it would be nice to go up everybody for some breakfast and to get the great opportunity to wake up 5.30 in the morning to stand in line for an hour one last time..

As usual we were among the 10 first people in the line, and as we predicted the line started to grow bigger then ever, earlier then usual because of the absents of snow this season, and people obviously gonna have tickets they wanna use..

So well worth getting up early to get the best of it right.. I mean 15-20 min in the morning still don't give that much right.. yes it does but anyways.. I'm really glad we did go up early..

Well up the top there were still below temperatures and apparently all the rain that had fallen in the village had fallen as snow up here.. and a good 20-30 cm aswell..
Boy did we get stoked..

So for the last time this season we chucked down as much as you possible can in 15 min, filled zip-lock bags and tupperware boxes full of fruit, cereals, yogurt, bacon, muffins and all you can think of the get as much as possible out of the buffe'. Then out the doors and shred some fresh powder..
and because nobody really expected the amount of snow everybody was caught off guard and we found some great tracks..

The best thing was that we stayed 4 people in our little group, don't wanna be to many riding pow ending up waiting and loosing virgin snow..
and all agreed that we would go to the peak chair lift and wait for it to open to be first up the peak with all it's glory..
It was still snowing and the visibility wasn't the best in the morning so it was dead empty when we got down, asked the liftie when they were going to open ,if it was any idea waiting..
the answer was maybe an hour, so we looked at each other and undid our bindings..

We played around a bit outside and in the lift when the guy said we could wait inside..
and so we did.
After maybe 30 min some more people found the way down and starting to build a line..
So great sitting inside the little lift hut being warm chatting around with the lift guy looking out on the poor bastards thinking they are first, then just before they open you grab your board and take the first chair up the peak in front of everybody, imagine the long faces hehe..

And what a run.. I made it before with Renen but then we where maybe 10th chair up.. now we were No; uno!! and in mid April, and the Sun started to show..!!

Maybe had the best day of the season. absolute mad!
and the next day we were out in the park making stunts in T-shirt and 15 degrees in the sun..!! 

Bizarre and surreal!!!

love it... love it..!


Making the 15 dollars worth it..
ate free spaghetti carbonara that night, and breakfast the rest of the week :) 
do I look innocent enough..? hehe 
 

.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

unwanted guests


I
'm apparently not the only guest in the house..
there has been a little mouse living down the walls and cupboards in the kitchen nibbling on our food..
So after a week of not so happy surprises in the breakfast cereals we went and bought a mousetrap..  and just
 in case it would be a fat little fellow we got the biggest they had...
Set it up under the stairs with peanut butter as lure.. 
now there was only waiting..

but he never bought it.. smart little bastard this.. and he kept eating on our food.

So one day Nat heard him in one of the cupboards .. she's vegetarian and was the only one not liking the trap.  So armed with a strainer "durkslag" and a frying pan in her hands and with me one meter behind with my boarding gloves on we thought we outta catch it..

opening the door and piece by raisin packet we emptied the cupboard..
and soon we saw him scared as hell trying to hide in a corner,
looking up on us while shaking as an autumn leaf he made a run for it.. but Nat caught him in the strainer and put the frying pan on top.
the evil little decease spreader were now imprisoned..

Nat got so happy she caught him so she ran around shouting in joy.
-I caught him, I caught him.! I caught Freddie.. that's what we decided to call him earlier when we first noticed holes in our bags..

I went up to leave my gloves when I heard Nat screaming again downstairs, and this time not in joy.. turned around down the stairs quickly again as the hullabaloo got more loud.

In the end of the stairs I encountered maybe the most hilarious scene in whistler history..!
There, by the kitchen table, I saw Nat slamming the strainer in Freddies little head crying.
-I don't want to kill him, I don't want to kill him!! 

Apparently she got curious and wanted to see , according to her, the poor cute little furry pet and lift the lid.
what HE  saw was a big eyed grinning scary giant ready to bolt him down in one piece and took his chance and just one lined it for the safety zone in the wall..

After 20 sec of wild joggling with a scared for life living  mouse she got him on top of the table and put the lid on..

For better viewing we made a little nest in a shoe box with a peeking hole out of cellophane before we took him out to the woods..
also fed him with a peanut and some weed to get him relaxed.. 
and also to get the chance to see a stoned mouse hehe..


daddy.. why is the burger all black?


Springtime living also involve some more BBQs right.. Yes it does ..

We were invited to some friends of Simon just further away the street..
3 girls living in a mansion and paying less than most.. and definitely less then C.G and the guys sharing rooms, and they got their own BIG room with a monster terrace overviewing the mountains slopes and village, 2 full tiled bathrooms, a big open kitchen and living room with flatscreen TV and a gym/spa with panorama windows..
Got damn this is how you should live.. but here more then anywhere else it's so much easier being a girl.. it just is.. 3 guys would never had got that deal..  not jealous ..

But we brought some beers and I a steak for once.
usually BBQ here means hamburger and drinking, lots of drinking..!
and because C.G and I are a pair of old crackers we took it easy not looking forward a day being hungover in the slopes..

But we had fun, nice time out on the enormous terrace sort of in charge of the grill..
, at this time all the little people where a bit to tipsy , and maybe naive and girly, to be able to handle a grill,  
when we got there there was nothing going on food wise. they'd just brought the coal, grill and the food out on a big table and left it for someone responsible to take care of it..
It's how everybody does it here..
the mentality is me me me, I go first but I don't wanna do anything, if I leave it long enough someone will do it for me..
So I took my grown up responsibility and acted father once again. ;) . mostly because I was hungry as hell..

Poured some coal in, lit it and starting flipping burgers and me own steak while sipping
a couple of beers and watching the kids play drinking games in the common area
enjoying the great view over the village as the twilight sat it's mark upon it..
and ironic enough.. when I left my post as the head stoker it only took about 10 min before the whole thing was on fire and people were trying to put it out with hamburgers...
  .. at 12 it was time so I bed farewell and walked home to my sofa...

still another great night..


Nilz calling Tom to join us.
  


.

.

Friday, April 10, 2009

stoopid monkey


F
ound this on craigslist..

and the thing is that girls probably will contact him..

For rent:
Left side of a queen bed in one room of a very nice 4bdrm condo. Half a walk in closet. Private hot tub, gourmet kitchen, big screen TV.
Looking for a cute 19-24 year old snowbunny, preferably blonde, aussies OK but you can't say "funny as" or "sick as" without finishing the sentence. (this will be on the lease agreement, I will kick you out). I guess the room would suit 2 people (+me) as long as the second meets the criteria as well. And throw in a little 3-way action a couple times a week.
Price: 24 beers, weekly. Broke? sexual favors work too. And sharing a bed with me ;) handsome, early 20's shred addict.
Available now til Oct 31 2009


There's many things that's funny about it, he's quite a character..
let's start at the very first word even!!

LEFT side of queen bed.. haha he's a generous fellow..

later in the text he describes the place as a 4 bedroom place..
so there's at least 3 other in the house, but considering we're in Whistler the odds are more likely 6-9 other in the house.. nice privacy.. and do they also want a piece of the 'rent' ..?? and do he has the 'private hot tub' in the bedroom?? well wouldn't be surprised with this douche..

well you read it..

I really would like to see him, he thinks really highly of him selves handling 2 'snowbunnies' and also being all like you can't say this or you can't say that for I kick you out..
you think you're that hansom do ya.. hehehe

what a dickhead..

.

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

home sick




The other day C.G found a treasure in the grocery store.
SWEDISH LINGONBERRY JAM!!

So I prompted that we should make a swedish dinner together,
we called Martin to join us as well and had a fantastic experience with meatballs, mashed potatoes and of course our golden jam from the north..

ahh it tasted soooo good you can't believe it!! 
and how funny a little thing like that can make your home sickness much more numb.. :)

.

Sunday, April 5, 2009

no reason


In the past couple of nights I have been surfing the couch at C.Gs
I simply got thrown out from my room..??

Grant ,which is the name on the old fucker owning the house I used to live in just got mental on me.
The last couple of weeks he has been really grumpy and rude, so I just thought that I'll just ride out the remaining 3 weeks and try to not be in his way right..

Even Renen felt the tense air the last week of his stay..

Anyways, he's a master of scribbling his name on everything that's his and also big notes like, Refill when empty  !!!  or  don't touch !!!

And on Friday morning when I went to the bathroom, this woke my tired eyes up a bit...


He bloody wrote his name on TP. !!!
wwwoohahahaha  get a fuckin life man..!

A few days earlier I had bought some and stored it under the sink..
So I checked..
and he had f..... written Brooke's name on it!!!!   that's the other girl living in the 3rd room..
I mean coome on..

So I just took the marker and wrote big..
Sorry Grant, I bought this, it's for everybody..!!!

Shouldn't done that...

When I got home he went in his room and slammed the door.. and there was a big note on my door saying I was stupid, rude and that he never been treated this disrespectful before in his LIFE!!!

When I called him out to the kitchen to talk about what the problem was he just shouted some obscene stuff from his room like a 3 year old..

So I just said that if he gave me my 300 dollar deposit back I could leave right away if that's what he wanted.. I mean I had paid the full April rent already...

Oh oh.. now he throws up the door and stands on his toes screaming at me spitting wildly like an bulldog..!!
I couldn't reason with him because I couldn't get my self heard.. even less hear what I was thinking..
I was , apparently, SO incredible stupid and brought up by retards, and Renen was the second biggest idiot he met, but that wasn't a surprise because all from Sweden are dickheads and I should go back to my stupid country and never leave and so on and so on for 10 min..

hehhehe I just stood there and laughed and agreed with him.. right I am a bit stupid actually, and we are so freakishly weird in Sweden...
Then just packed my stuff and called a cab leaving for C.Gs place, where they apparently are a bit numb being affected of the stupidness of Swedish people since living with C.G ...

So I'm good on the couch here for a few nights and hopefully there's a bed available in a house nearby that I can borrow until I leave in 2 weeks..

crazy stuff..



Saturday, April 4, 2009

last day of pow


O
h my god ..!!

Today we really made it an adventure..
The spring is making itself more present and we're just fine with that, some slush park riding in the warm spring sun is always good and fun..

But I felt there were one bit missing, so we planned some hiking missions on friday when we just had some 10-15cm of snow and sunny reports for the weekend.

and so we did, met up with C.G, Martin and his girlfriend Tanya at 9.30 and went up to the peak to find some untouched stuff..

Started out with a mad run trough the woods on a side I never ridden before and we were all smiling at the bottom again. :)

On the way up I told the crew about a place me and Renen scouted but never got the time to ride.
It's a mad untouched steep really open forest ride apparently all the way to the bottom on the far side of whistler, but warned that there could be a hike back to civilisation for 1-2 hours along the creek finally down there..

They just looked at each other for a second before returning to me and answered simultaneously .. Let's do it..!!

Dropped down the peak around 11.30 and had maybe the best riding time and experience in my snowboarding life!!
Not super deep but still good and soooo untouched!!!

We all enjoyed the long run down.. but a bit earlier then we expected the wood was closing in on us and pushed us down a creek that eventually turned to a 25m waterfall..

So the ride was over, now we only had to get down to flat ground and back to the highway..

After sliding down steep forest and narrow bushes on the ass for more then an hour we finally made it to more stable foundation..

Lucky enough we just hit the beginning of an trail with a sign pointing towards human village..
the only thing was that under it there were five symbols..

the five symbols were as following

8.5 km



hehe at least we were on a road so we had some water and snack and started walking, singing the little tune from disney's 7 dwarfs , hey ho hey ho we're off the mountain go , ..

2.5 hours later we sat in the village eating well deserved greek fastfood and coca cola :)
time now 17:00

But well worth it and what an adventure!!


for more nice pics check out C.Gs blog down the left or click here...




.

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

all about the benjamins


So what did we do today worth writing about.
well actually nothing, but because I am god in this little sphere on Internet I get to tell you what to read, so just crawl up and swallow what I feed you..  
MMwwwooohhahahahahaha

Seriously I need to get meself a country and a people to rule and dictate over..!

No I had a great day as usual..
Started of a bit slow, couldn't get my trix straight..  but after a while I got going and at that time I met up with C.G ,and I actually made a new one, ending up staying until closing, goofing around in the terrain parks..

Down in village we met up with a few guys from the house, which had found a american 100 dollar bill, so it was free beer, and nothing tastes better then free right.
Then we ran around town giggling and hiding each others boards from one and other..!

Friends.. so fun to have  

:)



Thursday, March 26, 2009

clean you ear so you can hear the drum




Mad vibes..
Me and C.G went to maybe the best concert during the stay, and year..

Talib Kweli decided to end his Canada tour here in Whistler.
and It was good.. goooooooood
to bad the sound wasn't the best, it was like old Berns home in stocktown, and way to much bass but he rocked it good and a mad feeling in a narrow basement location.!

Can't believe we actually got a photo with him hehe..
like two 14 year olds.. 

But of course there was some downers even this night..
If it would have been in Stocktown the audience would had been older and a bit more mature, but still rockin it right..

That's the problem here..all the kids never been drunk before, fuck I actually miss the age controlled clubs home in sweden..
It's not just as fun with hundred's of piss drunk teenagers puking and screaming..

and it's spring break now aswell, and that brings the slum from USA up here.
and on a concert like this it's unavoidable not having geeks around you ordering ' helror' and think they are the shit.

So yesterday I stood in the bar and this half Indian douche next to me just being an ass and thought he was the shit, took like ages for him to order and changed it all the time and nothing was right and so on..
and he had the ugliest cloth on..
a slimy multi coloured shirt, cheap fine pants and pointy shoes like you had in the 90's and made your feet look 5 numbers bigger, like we called canoes or 'myggjagare'
I think you get the picture..

I just couldn't let that fly could I..

So when I finally got my two cuba libre I turned to him and said..

- hey man, nice shoes.. just don't forget your fuckin paddles in the bar when you leave..

thumbs up and left..

except that the night was good and Talib rules.!

.


 

a day in pictures



First I slept until late, then got up in the sunny afternoon and nailed a few new trick in the parks.. mad fun in the sun.!


My cheek is not hamster like anymore.. but I have now a very nice pastel coloured neck..




as you also can see here.. 
snuck in with C.G and friends on there free pizza night.. mmmmmhh
stuffed meself.



and here..
My and C.G at the Talib Kweli concert.. drinking rum and coke and having fun



Yeeeeah.. Talib in action. mad concert!!



Put your hands up, put your hands up..


.

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

all alone in the dark


So Renen has left me..Gonna feel mad empty not having him around to hike, chat, go hot tubing, just hang with and all that.. you get pretty close sharing a 3x2 meter room and a bunk bed..

And who should I now build a shack with pillows in the lower bed of the bunk and watch movies with..?? :)

It has been really fun having him around, and much easier dealing with the drunk..
don't think I would of had made it without him..

Thank You!
So as a last night celebration to the good times we went out for fancy dinner and beer instead of cooking at home..
or actually he bought me the dinner.. what a gentleman ;)
a steak topped with half a lobster and sauce bearnaise.. can it get better..?

This morning we got up early again.. but this time to catch the bus to Vancouver..
I followed him there to spend a few hours shopping before he went to the airport and I headed back for a few more weeks rinding and finishing up the season.

I really didn't get a fair chance to see Vancouver last time so it was really nice going there with someone.  
and with a second opinion I think it's a fair city, not NYC exactly but sure do have some funky good shops for skate, snowboarding, sneakers and other Hip Hop related stuff..
But also a fair deal of homeless crazy people!!

Damn just a block away from Gas Town, which is a sort of Vancouvers answer to 
lower east side/soho,   there are like thousands homeless druggies walking around like zombies!!
we saw one laying on the ground leaning against a statue petting and playing with a dead dove..!!
and then just a few streets back west, there were no trace of them..
never seen anything like that anywhere!!

.

Monday, March 23, 2009

I was right


Yupp.. time to get jealous again.!!
Today we hooked up with C.G and Rich at 7 o'clock this morning to go cat skiing.!
That's when you jump in the back of a snowcat and ride up the mountain for some great backcountry pow without any lifts, crowds, hikes or standing in lines.!
The conditions weren't the best and what you dream of, but pretty close.
We managed 9 runs in forest powder in 5 hours.
the first two were a bit boring and to easy, but they were like test runs to see what we could handle.. but after that it was crazy fun.! And the guides were really good and funny but still professional.
one, Lee-Ann, is apparently 2 times world champ in extreme skiing!!
the only thing was that we would like to have a bit longer runs and with no stops. but with a avalanche risk of extreme it's maybe better to play safe right..
I still got some best riding in my life, and the last couple of goes they just let us loose to go nuts.. at lunch break we wrestled in the snow and found a little pillow to throw flips out of,  just like a bunch of kids hehe..
And what a luxury getting driven up there in a big machine with bus kind of seats. :D !

This was really a dream come true.. next time we go for some heli-skiing.!!!

.

Sunday, March 22, 2009

epic


They got a place called 7th heaven here on Blackcomb mountain were we go for some off piste riding.. and you can say that I'm on cloud 9 at the moment..

As I mentioned earlier it's been snowing here for 5 good days, and for 2 days we have been up at 5.30 for something called fresh tracks..
You pay 15 dollars for the chance to get up the mountain a bit earlier then the rest, kinda a V.I.P to taste the fresh snow dumping during the night..

It's mad fun.. and because there are a few others that also would like to get some fresh, you want to be first of the first..
So you get up at 5.30 and just take your clothes on and walk to the gondola at latest 6 to stand in line for a good hour. at 6.20 there's some 50 people behind you and at 6.40 there's a couple of hundreds.!!

Both days we were good enough to be in the first 3 chairs up.. that gives you some more time for breakfast at the top..
and it's a mad.. it's like old women on a sale, so you need to be quick and know were to get your stuff..
When you come up, there's a big buffe' with pancakes, yogurt,fruits,scrambled eggs, bacon,juice,tea, coffee,muffins and more, pretty good actually.
Normally you have max 20 min to eat before they open up the mountain.. if you first one up.
and the trick is to bring some canteens to stuff with all you can fit.. cause you don't want to be to full when riding, and 20 min it's kinda stressful cause you wanna get out there as fast as possible..!
So when the jars and canteens are full you head out in the first light of the day and wait for the rope to drop, and then it's a race to the best runs of your life..

It's a must to have a plan, and it's really good to know where the sweet spots are, so it was really good we did some recon missions when it's was cold the other week..

you people that rides know what I'm talking about, you others just have to try to understand how good powder we had for the last couple of days, and what an incredible blessing it is to be absolute first out there making runs in completely untouched snow on mountains sides, in chutes and with waist deep pow blinding you when turning ..!

Yesterday we had a 12 hour day up there.
up 6 in the morning, had three amazing first runs before the crowds, then continued hiking our secret spots all day and when they closed the lifts at 4, we hiked one last spot and didn't hit the base until 6 in the afternoon.!
Just in time for a beer and watch a rail jam going on down the village..!!

I can't believe it's true..
And with an absolute certitude in my voice, we're gonna have an even more awesome killer day tomorrow.!!
.

Friday, March 20, 2009

lazy


hehehe..

just gonna link it to C.Gs blog..
I agree what that dude said. :)

click here...

.

Thursday, March 19, 2009

I'm alive.. I'm ALIVVVEEEE!!!


Feels soo good to be a human being again..
After a week in bed doing nothing and a failed attempt getting up from bed before 2pm yesterday.
I managed to crawl in my thermos and up the slope this morning, after only 4h of sleep..
kinda put my day rhythm up side down..... boy you turn me, in side out... round and round..
And being home with the drunk all days really tests your patients..
he's not to found of me having a friend over.. and he shows it clearly by slamming kitchen doors and grunting all the time..

We do have a lot of fun on his behalf though, that's one good thing living here with Renen right now, we can just laugh at him and his stupid ideas.. and everything he does, he contradict him self, and he's always home just drinking beer smoking and cleaning, so that's good, no mess here no sireee..

But I hate not having the money to live where I wanna live.. So I'm stuck here a few more weeks.. then freedom..

but I mean, it's really close to everything and it's cheap, for being whistler that is..
and second of all, he's supposed to be in Mexico by now.
that's another thing with people that are addicts..  lot of talk, no action..

well the first couple of runs today were really good, but as I said, I have been in bed for a week so I don't know if Renen agrees with me.. he nods in silents..
But they made me a bit nausea.. still on the pill..

But I took it slow and easy, no crazy stuff, and we made a day out of it.
6 hours pow riding isn't to bad is it..!  
and tomorrow we're on it again..

I'm back baby!!!

Sunday, March 15, 2009

karma sharma


Ok.. what the fuck did I do in my past life..
getting a bit tired of this shit happening right now..

First just before Renen came I got sick and got me some antibiotics right. 
well they didn't help that much, as soon I was done I started to feel drowsy again, and after a few days I had to take a day of while my friends had fun on the mountain..

Then I go and smack my head into concussion, and as cherry on the top I got sick again and are on my second round of antibiotic in 4 weeks..
So not only my brain damage, that actually is much better, but I have to deal with 10 more days of medication and rest..just when I was ready to go after the accident.. and we just got the last dump of the year.. on a year where dumps are rare.!!!

So what the fuck did I do... haven't been sick in a long time so why now..!!
And I think I don't just speak for my self when I say I do everything to get my friends the best of everything always..!!!

so fuck you karma I'm leaving you!!!!

.

Friday, March 13, 2009

white men can't jump


H
ere we go again..

Just as i started being a bit more cocky and doing better, bigger trix, I have to go and do this..
Me and Renen was up on the far side of Blackcomb scouting out some good runs for the expecting snow this weekend..
In the end of the day we passed a few backcountry kickers that I just had to try..
I did everything right, even did a test run to check my speed.. and then I just do something weird last second weigh change on my pop from the kick and totally throw my balance of..

the result.. a Concussion and Memory loss..!

The heavy impact made my knee meet my shin bone, and not just caressing it gently.!
I was alright in the beginning but when I asked Renen the same questions over and over on the way down he just knew something wasn't all good..

But I made it down, got home and made some dinner before Renen talked me into going to the medical centre to have it checked out, and by this time my left cheek was big as a handball..

at the hour 8pm we arrived at the medical centre and by then I had asked the same questions a hundred times and didn't remember the last 5 hours of my life, not how we got off the mountain, what we had for dinner or anything, just a few glimpses of the day and the great view at the peak..

Apparently I acted like a old senile 90 year old babbling away about same things, and on the way down, Renen told me, We accoutered a group of girls sunbathing in their bras, and I'd just stopped and ogled them having Renen pulling me in the jacket away from there cause the girls were getting uncomfortable..
hehe gotta be me for that, when syntax error I'll guess the reserve power takes over..
that being the reptile brain..

So no riding or other physical activities for a week, not even watching TV or reading a book..
just flat on my back staring in the roof not to stress my brain....


Not for sensitive viewers...!

Monday, March 9, 2009

old boys old boys


What you gonna do when the cold comes for you..
well you can hang at the library and catch up with the newest surf and snow magazines for free and download some movies or just play some backgammon or connect 4 at your local coffee shop and chill with a hot coco, or vanilla latte like Renen..

And that's just what we did. 
Just taking the day off doing literally nothing feels good for once..
And what's the point getting up on the mountain when it's under -20 and wind close to 15m/sec..
I'll tell ya what point it is. it's NO point that what it is ..

And I think there's something in our walls, or maybe some funky additaments in the cheap beer we're drinking, cause we starting to have real problems getting up in the mornings..

or maybe we just like spooning and snoozing to much..

more free stuff to do:

hot tub at Hilton
free coffee and muffin after the slope at Marriott 
free spring roll,hamburger snack every friday afternoon at Fairmont 





Thursday, March 5, 2009

you're as hard as ice


W
ell what can we say..
Haven't got snow for a couple of days and the temperature is dropping close to -15 C,
it's getting icy in the slopes..
So we asked this girl from Lule to describe in her own words, both how we don't like our women nor the conditions in the parks..!!




.

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

brothers in pain


So my friends, the time came for Renen to get hurt..
I have maybe earlier mentioned that there's quite a lot of people walking/limping around the village with a bandage or on crutches.
and as late as this afternoon we saw two people getting helped down the mountain in a sledge after slamming a jump in the park..

Me, still have a tingling pain in my back bone and today I strained my back a bit, but the funny thing is I didn't do it on a stunt, nope not old grandpa, I did it when just turning normally in the slope hehe..

Good thing the recovery options is pretty good here, I went to the gym this afternoon for some strokes in the pool to stretch the muscles and then for some water massage in the hot tub..
then home for some film, home cooked burgers and swedish berries.. :) a type of candy like 
gott&blandat..

And yesterday it was due for Renen.
He likes going in pipes, but this one is a monster, and the last couple of days a very icy and hard monster..
so on the first kick he slips and lands on his cute little bum and comes down to the lift with a twinkling tear running down his cheek crying.. 
-It feels like I've been in a prison for black people and dropped the soap...

yeah the mountains is hard against the hard, just like the Phantom..

at least that's the official report..

the unofficial is that we share a bed...


Monday, March 2, 2009

Best Buddies Quality


So Renen and I have been playing in the snow all week..
That's why there has been an absent of report, didn't wanna brag and nag the same thing all over..
but it has been an amazing and great week..

Renen is still a bit cold so he falls asleep almost directly after the slope and stays there until morning breaks..
Saturday Finally came and gave us a very needed 2 days off after hiking and shredding pow from 8 in the mornings until closing time at 15.30..

We just stayed in bed, watched some telly and headed in to the village in thew afternoon to look at a slopestyle competition.
They where good but was a bit disappointed.. It's actually more fun watching it on TV then real life..??

Well on the evening we got invited to Helens again for some outside patio hut tub and BBQ with some poolside pool (billiard)  

I mean gotta show Renen the wizzla life right.. :D

Thursday, February 26, 2009

like the old saying


A picture says more than a thousand words...





for more sweet pics..  click here..

.

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

pow wow

Hallelujah Jesus Christ Buddha Allah and all that!!

Just came home from a 7 hours long day in massive powder..!
The conditions were just perfect today, and a constant dump during the night left a 40-50 cm layer of powder frosting on the delicious cake called Whistler Blackcomb !!Early up in the lift, tired as usual when you get up before 10..
but at 9 we hit the first slope and we instantly forgot how little sleep we had the last days..
It was amazing, awesome, fuck yeah and every thing Else you can come up with.. and then some more..!

And we're getting better and smarter when we ride.. and it's so much to ride when it's fresh it's ridiculous so we keep hitting new spots everyday.. and even late this afternoon on our last runs we made fresh tracks.. even though the main runs have a lot of tracks in them.. we found untouched ground..and imagine we have only been at one out of two mountains so far.. ;D
I can't really explain the feeling today.. we were just giggling like schoolgirls after every run, we just shred it big time. simple as that..


My life situation changed so quick, from being sick in bed and with no snow in the village and rain. To over a meter fresh pow in 2 days and -5 degrees and just having the absolute best time in my life..!!

I really don't know why I write this, it's maybe not fun to read.. I don't know..
just wanted you guys to know, that if you thought maybe I was having a bad time over here and just didn't like it that much and thinking of coming home..

FORGET IT !!
I'm just sooo happy..!!

tonight it's dinner, movie and early bed..
tomorrow we gonna be first up in every lift.. starting at 8 am waiting for the first lift to start then step it up for another day in paradise..
as long as it keeps snowing I don't have any problems.

there's no snow like pow pow...


remeniss


A
fter 2 weeks since the last dump we finally got some fresh.!!
It looks like Renen brought it with him..
No morning stars directly none of us we literally crawled out of bed early this morning to catch some virgin snow, and boy did we..?!

It's hard because you have to plan ahead to get the most of it, and always be updated if/when they open up new areas.. and with a lot of people, and especially lot of beginners, the tracks get ruined quite fast..

Yesterday we had to fix the lift pass for Renen and wasn't as early as this morning.
But we hiked up a peak far out on whistler mountain that still were quite intact and got a really good and long run down the bottom.

Today we found a really good forest run with waste deep pow in some places and steep enough to get a lot of speed..
We did reruns for hours..

Afterward we sneaked into Hilton again for some well earned hot tub treatment for our sore legs and muscles.

This week is also Burton week so a lot of thing's going on.
and today they had a movie screening evening, showing movies from late 80's and early 90's..
Damn we cracked up and laughed loud at the outfits, style, crazy moves and funny people from the early ages of snowboarding hahaha.. amazing

I can say that Today was by far the greatest since I came..!!

here's a video of Renen going down the pow..





.

Monday, February 23, 2009

reindeer games


So he emerged like a light bolt from a clear sky with a halo hovering above him..
well not quite but when being home sick and just wandering around the house in your socks it almost felt like it..
My buddy old pal 'Renen' arrived yesterday with a new board under his arm, and gonna rip it on the mountain with me and the rest of the boys for a good month.!

Feels really good to have someone with me in the house, that's not a drunk or a dog..
Though I had a good day with Diesel the other day when I took him for a walk over 3 hours and just sat in the warm sun, played with some sticks and chatted with the ladies.. ;)
It really made my sick day much brighter being with this little dog that loves to come into my room in the mornings and make a little cozy nest with my quilt, porking around like a little pig..
.. and sometimes when no one's around I call him little piggy...

And yesterday him and Renen found themselves too, when they both fell a sleep in my bed next to each other, both on back, both with the paws in the air..  very cute indeed..

So me and Renen are living it camps style like teenagers with a bunk bed and all in my really tiny room...
but we just laughed all day on how good our lives is right now..!!
no schedules, no meetings, no times to pass, candy whenever, ice cream for breakfast..

.. Just pure Freedom..

and now it started to snow...